The VintAxe Guitar Forum

A Place for Vintage Guitar Enthusiasts to Pursue their Passion

Best Japanese brands & models

Posts related to vintage guitars manufactured in Japan or other Asian countries

Moderators: cheepaxes, VintAxe, Phizix

by Jazzmaster78 » Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:35 pm

Hi there, I'm new here on the forum, writing from Brazil.

I have a doubt about those japanese vintage guitars, and I'd really appreciate if you guys could help on this question.

Although I am a professional musician for many years , I have always used guitars from renowned brands such as Gibson, Fender, Hofner, etc ...

Recently, however, I became interested in different guitars, especially vintage Japanese guitars and I am, of course, running into a gigantic universe of brands, models and different references.

But what makes me write here to you, however, is the following reason:

Among the many Japanese brands that sold guitars in the 60's and 70's, is there any brand that actually has a superior quality than the others? Or any model that is superior?

Studying on the subject , I heard that, in reality, most of the brands were made ​​in the same one or two factories and it makes me believe that those guitars are all the same, changing only in name.

Im not talking about the lawsuit guitars ( Greco , Fernandes, Tokai , Ibanez , etc. .. ) that are really good copies, of excellent wood, hardware an finish quality.

I'm thinking on the popular brands like Teisco, Norma, Apollo, Domino, Kawai, Encore e etc...Is there any of these brands or any model they made with superior quality components, better than the others? Is there any ranking, any quality scale between those dozens of Japanese brands?

I tried to find a topic talking about this, but Couldn't find. So Im sorry if I'm beeing repetitive.

Thanks for your help!!!

Fernando
Jazzmaster78

by Jazzmaster78 » Wed Apr 23, 2014 5:02 pm